Wafi Abdouss: Becoming The “IT” Guy

Ifrane- When I first came to Al Akhawayn University, I thought that I’m going to study in a Haravrd-like, Beverlyhills-looking university where everything is possible and where vice overshadows righteousness.

So I came in with a really negative view, I mean really negative, and my dream at that time (4 semesters ago) was to become famous. I dunno why, but I just wanted to be known, loved and followed. You can say its a kid’s dream, a superstars syndrome or an odd version of OCD. Becoming the point of attention has been one of my biggest defects, and as of this writing, I still suffer from it because as you might notice, I’m trying yet again to grab the attention of the reader with a sort-of catchy tittle (I guess) and a heart-felt (not really) article or post. So, back to my little story, I decided to start my own reality show in my first semester and you might say, wow, what a nice idea! WRONG! it was the worst, although I had lots of fun recording it and editing it alongside my two best friends, it gained me nothing but sarcasm, laughs and odd-looks. Maybe I was mistaken, or maybe its just not the right place and the right time. No one can deny that my show (if you can call it a show) was a joke as there was no story, no plot, no good or even decent acting HOWEVER, it gained me a certain percentage of fame. People started to recognize me (In a negative way).

By summer 2012, I became a love-to-hate guy, people just wanted to hate me for no obvious reason. Presuming I was this silly, stupid, Not funny, annoying guy which I WASN’T! The big blast came in August 2012 when I group called Gossip Boy (Yes it is similar to GG in concept) was created, people jumped to thinking I was behind it and it soon went VIRAL among the whole university community. And like that, I became one of the most recognizable faces, one of the really most despised faces. I can’t say I didn’t enjoy it at first, especially when girls used to come up to me and ask me not to write about them but when real problems started poring in like heavy rains, friends ignoring me and even unfriending me I started to feal all alone, sad, heartbroken and mad. You know that feeling when someone accuses you of something and no matter what you say or do no one believes you had nothing to do with it? I felt it each day.

The bright side was that I came to know who my real friends are, and who my fake friends are. Gossip Boy made me infamous, but you know what they say, bad publicity is publicity and publicity is a good thing….wanna know how I changed it all? See you in part 2.

P.S. I’m the guy dancing in the video, which also brough me A LOT OF ATTENTION! I had to delete my video but someone copied it before I took it down, guess they though it was funny, I think it was! 😉

Leave a Reply

