Diary #1: Could I get a single room?

61585_195870373894056_1281894336_n

This is my third semester at Akhawayn in Ifrane, which is a university modeled as Morocco’s Harvard (cliche I know!) and its students are considered and celebrated as the next or future leaders of Morocco.

However, behind all of this glamour and mesmerizing facade, lies the fact that many students are forced to live in a double room, some not even inside campus without the possibility to pay double and get a single room. I know that this might get me in so much trouble and my plate is already full with controversy stemming from my westernized character! but if people truly believe in democracy, freedom of expression and Constructive criticism they will have no other way than to accept my right to self-express my utter disappointment with how the system of Morocco’s so-called N°1 university works. Single rooms should be available to those able to pay the fee and not be strictly evolving around a seemingly endless waiting-list.

As of this writing, I’m positioned 77th on the list! I may never get the single room seeing that I have about 2 to 2.5 years to graduate.

Leave a Reply

